Single & Childless

The number of one-person households in western societies is growing. Rather than pathologizing or trying to fix this existence, I am interested in helping foster support for and acceptance of this circumstance or choice. Many therapists have a blind spot around singlehood as well as childlessness because they don’t have lived experience, see this life path as wrong, or still assume that everybody should and will eventually get married and have children. Therapists with such a blind spot can cause inadvertent and unintentional harm to single childless folks. For this reason I have compiled a list of therapists in the U.S. who specialize in working with the single childless experience.

CA:
Victoria Charles: www.victoriacharlestherapy.com
(415) 488-6231
victoriacharlesmft@gmail.com

Matthew Engel: www.matthewengel.com
(415) 377-7533
transform@matthewengel.com

Emily Howard: www.emilyhowardtherapy.com
(415) 255-2604

Nicole Nemiroff: www.nicolenemiroff.com
(415) 484-9934
nicole.nemiroff@gmail.com

Fairley Parson: www.fairleyparsontherapy.com
(415) 915-7200
fairley@fairleyparsontherapy.com

Brie Pierquet: www.mosaicsf.com
(415) 534-9249

Leann Ravenel: www.berkeleycounseling.com
(510) 380-7935
leann@berkeleycounseling.com

Gregory Tilden: www.gregtilden.com
(510) 859-4889
gregorytilden.lmft@gmail.com

Darshana Weill: www.darshanaweill.com
(415) 578-0785
darshanaweilltherapy@gmail.com

Jesse Lee Westfall: www.jessewestfalltherapy.com
(510) 342-9707
contact@jessewestfalltherapy.com

CO:
Johanna Karasik: www.definingpathcounseling.com
(720) 295-2599

Jessika Austad: www.drjesika.com
(651) 800-1814
Drjesikaaustad@gmail.com

FL:
Virginia Abell: www.virginiaeabell.com
(904) 872-8422
virginia@virginiaeabell.com

IN:
Megan Kelly: www.lykkecounseling.com
(260) 799-1447
meg@lykkecounseling.com

MI:
Adam Duberstein: www.adamduberstein.com
(248) 658-8070
adam@adamduberstein.com

MN:
Jessika Austad: www.drjesika.com
(651) 800-1814
Drjesikaaustad@gmail.com

NJ:
Molly Stremba: www.mstrembapsychotherapy.com
(530) 331-0011
ms.stremba@gmail.com

NY:
Molly Stremba: www.mstrembapsychotherapy.com
(530) 331-0011
ms.stremba@gmail.com

Kristen Verge: www.kristenvergelcsw.com
(845) 603-2026
kristen.verge@gmail.com

OR:
Jesse Lee Westfall: www.jessewestfalltherapy.com
(510) 342-9707
contact@jessewestfalltherapy.com

TX:
Emily Morehead: www.thecouchtherapy.org
(469) 496-1693
info@thecouchtherapy.org

Rae McWilliams: www.equitycounseling.com
(346) 702-0072
rae@equitycounseling.com

If you would like to be added to this list or recommend anyone else, please contact me: